Muladhara  is the lowest of the chakras, it’s located at the base of the spine, between the anus and the penis. From this chakra four impotrant nadis emanate which appear as lotus petals. the subtle vibrations that are made by each nadi are represented by sanskrit letters. In the middle of the white circle there is a yellow square, region of Prithvi ,the symbol of Prithvi tattwa (earth element). inside the square, the elephant Airvata (king of elephants, vehicle of Indra, king of the deva) carries on his back the bija (syllable) Lam , or bija-dhara (earth-seed). the bija carries on his lap Brahma (creator). above Airvata, near the mouth of Vajra nadi, shines a triangle which sybolise the yoni (uterus) of the Goddess Mother of the universe. The Yoni is called Kama (love) or Kamarupa (form of love) or Traipura (three-side city). inside the yoni is Svayambhu in his Linga form (divine phallus), in other words the male prime cause of the universe, Shiva. Within the Svayambhu Linga reigns dominant Para, the Sri Paramesvari, the awakener of eternal knowlwdge. She is the omnipotent Kala, wonderfully skillful creator.

Over the Linga the white Kundalini, fine as the fibre of the lotus stalk, lies sleeping, in spiral three and half times round Shiva, and her mouth covers Brahamadwara (door of Brahma) . The circulating energy above that is called Kama-bija (seed of love). Near this Linga is the golden region known as Kula (family). The presiding deity is Dakini. Dakinis are half-divine or devilish beings. they are “evil spirits”, attendants of Kali who eat raw meat. The presiding adept is called Dviranda. Ganesha is the devata of this chakra.ganesha-Symbols

corresponding nerve plexus in the physical body,sacro-coccygeal plexus

location-just below kanda,between the root of genitals and anus. at the base of spinal column petals-four

colour of petals,blood-red

letters on the petals – or the vibrations of the yoga nadis-Vam , Sam , Sham , Ssam

mandala, or the region of tattwa, or element-bhumandal, or prithvi, or region of earth

yantra, or shape of the mandala-square

bija akshara, or seed-Lam


presiding god-ganesha,brahma four faced

goddess-dakini (shakti)

deva or pancha butha tattwa-prithvi


colour of tattwas,yellow

function of tattwa, or quality,gandha or smell



granthi sthana,brahma granthi

result of concentration,health and vidya

The awkening of Kundalini Shakti The Jivatma in the subtle body, the rececptacle of the five vital airs (pancha pranas), mind in its three aspects of Manas, Buddhi and Ahamkara; the five organs of action (Karmendryas); and the five organs of perception (Jnendryas), are united with Kula-kundalini. The Kama Vayu in the Muladhara is given a leftward revolution and the fire wich is round kundalini is kindled. by the bija Hum , and the heat of fire thus kindled, the coiled and leeping Kundalini is awakened.she who lay asleep, with her mouth closing the mouth of Sushumna (Brahmadwara) will, on being roused, enter that door and move upwards, united with the Jivatma. On this upward movement, Brahma, Savitri, Dakini-shakti, the devas, bija and Vritti, are dissolved in the body of Kundalini. Prithvi is converted into bija Lam and is also merged in her body. When Kundalini leaves the Muladhara, the lotus, which on the awakening of kundalini had opened and tuned its flowers upwards, again closes and hangs downwards.12735806_993966207333993_1941343210_n

March 9th, 2017 by